top of page

History of the former allotment garden

Design ohne Titel (66).png

The history of the place

On the approximately 2600m² plot of Block IV of the former allotment garden site of the Kolonie am Stadtpark I, people have been gardening for around 80 years. Immediately adjacent to the north was the synagogue, which was inaugurated in 1930. It was destroyed in the pogrom night of 1938 and never rebuilt. A memorial plaque at Prinzregentenstraße 69/70 commemorates this.
The literary critic and philosopher Walter Benjamin lived in the immediate vicinity, at Prinzregentenstraße 66. He went into exile in Paris in 1933 and took his own life on the French-Spanish border in 1940 while fleeing from the Nazis.

Screenshot Tafel Synogoge.png

Development plans

Now construction is underway. The state-owned real estate company Berlinovo is planning to build 270 mini-apartments for temporary student accommodation at a rent of €25 per square meter (warm) as well as a small daycare center. Further information on the new building project can be found here.
The years of preparation for the construction project (land purchase, planning, preliminary building application, preliminary building permit) were largely kept secret until summer 2022.
Neither the district council nor those affected and the neighborhood were informed or even involved. After the facts finally became known in late summer 2022, it was said that the decision-making process was complete and nothing more could be done. This contradicts the Berlin Senate's “Guidelines for Citizen Participation in Spatial Urban Development”, which were adopted in 2019. It states: “Citizens should be involved as early as the formulation of the objectives of a project”.

Further information on the commitment against the development can be found here.

bottom of page

top of page

Historie des ehemaligen Kleingartens

Design ohne Titel (66).png

Die Geschichte des Ortes

Auf dem etwa 2600m² großen Grundstück des Block IV des ehemaligen Kleingartengeländes der Kolonie am Stadtpark I wird seit etwa 80 Jahren gegärtnert. Unmittelbar nördlich angrenzend lag die 1930 eingeweihte Synagoge. Sie wurde in der Pogromnacht 1938 zerstört und danach nicht wieder aufgebaut. Eine Gedenktafel in der Prinzregentenstraße 69/70, erinnert daran.
In unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft, in der Prinzregentenstraße 66, wohnte der Literaturkritiker und Philosoph Walter Benjamin. Er ging 1933 nach Paris ins Exil und nahm sich 1940 auf der Flucht vor den Nazis an der französisch-spanischen Grenze das Leben.

Screenshot Tafel Synogoge.png

Bebauungspläne

Nun soll hier gebaut werden. Die landeseigene Immobiliengesellschaft Berlinovo plant den Bau von 270 Mini-Apartments für temporäres Wohnen von Studierenden zu einem Mietpreis von 25 € qm (warm) sowie eine kleine Kita. Weitere Informationen zum Neubauprojekt gibt es hier.
Die jahrelange Vorbereitung des Bauvorhabens (Grundstückskauf, Planung, Bauvoranfrage, Bauvorbescheid) wurden bis Sommer 2022 weitgehend geheim gehalten.
Weder die Bezirksverordnetenversammlung noch die Betroffenen und die Nachbarschaft wurden informiert oder gar eingebunden. Nachdem der Sachverhalt im Spätsommer 2022 schließlich bekannt wurde, hieß es: Der Entscheidungsprozess ist abgeschlossen, da ist nichts mehr zu machen. Dies steht im Widerspruch zu den 2019 beschlossenen „Leitlinien für Beteiligung von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern an der räumlichen Stadtentwicklung“ des Berliner Senats. Dort heißt es: „Schon wenn die Ziele eines Projektes formuliert werden, sollen Bürger und Bürgerinnen einbezogen werden“.

Weitere Information zum Engagement gegen die Bebauung gibt es hier.

bottom of page